Saturday, 20 September 2014

Book Review - Uninvited

Author: Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Genres: Dystopian, Thriller | Young Adult
Release Date: January 28th 2014
Publishers: Harper Teen
No. Pages: 384
Source: Review Copy - Harper Teen

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

During my very infamous year out of reading a blogging, I read and loved Sophie Jordan's Firelight series. Not only was it action packed me but it was a very original story with likable characters and relationships. Though towards the end of it I found it to be a little bit predictable, it instantly became a favourite. So of course when I cam across Uninvited on NetGalley I just knew I had to request it. What I didn't count on however, was falling in love with this book much more than her previous YA series. Sophie Jordan has yet again managed to write a unique storyline, yes it can be be compared the to likes of Divergent or Delirium because of the dystipian feel with difference treated as a threat, but that's where the similarities end. 

Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, or HTS, is a gene that determines if you will one day kill or not, all convicts have it, all the people who have show violence in way or not have it, and the people in charges way of dealing with it? do a DNA test on everyone and those who are found to have it are isolated and treated like pariahs. No one thinks it could happen to them, and when it happens to Davy, a very prevailed girl from the right part of town, there must be some mistake because it's not suppose to happen to people like her. Soon she goes from attending a private school with lots of friend and a perfect boyfriend, to a state school with no one to talk to and locked in a room with other carries for the duration of the day.

Davy, an immensely talented young girl once had dreams of going to Juilliard, now  she would be lucky just to get her GED and finish high school. Her future looks very bleak, and with the government revoking more privileges, what little they actually allow the carries to have, it looks like her only option is to accept her fate.  Sean, a carrier from her school, is someone who you could look at straight away and tell that he had HTS. But Davy finds herself drawn to him, and him to her, until sooner or later they have a friendship that is loyal and honest. Of course, the attraction is there too :P

Both characters, and the sub characters, have so much depth to them and they really make up the story.  They are misunderstood and some of them wouldn't even hurt a fly and when they are put in a situation that is literally life or death, they try to make the most of it. Until that turns out to be as much as a lie as everything else.

Basically I loved this book, if you couldn't already tell. It had heart and soul, it had adventure it had romance and anything else that you could think would make a brilliant YA book. The only thing I will say is I was left a little confused as to if the rest of the world had HTS or if it was only USA that was screening people so that's something I hope is explained a little more in the next few books.

I know this book isn't for everyone, and I know a lot of people will find fault with it but for me it was worthy of 5 stars and I can not wait to read the rest.


  1. Oh my days, Charnell loved this, you loved this! I need to read it, gosh, why must so many books find their way on my TBR?! Granted, it was already there, but I might get it in the New Year now.. hmm ;) Great review though, and what a wonderful layout! *wink wink*

  2. Fantastic review, Stacie! I adored this book too, but I did have a few issues with it. I loved the entire concept however, and I can't wait for book two.

  3. I have had this sitting on my shelf for so long. I bought it shortly after it came out and I have yet to read it. I'm glad you liked it!

  4. YAY!!! Glad to find someone who loved this book as much as I did, I just could not get enough of it! This one was a 5 star read for me too, I could not get enough of it. I can't wait for book two!


We appreciate the time you take to leave a comment and do our very best to reply as soon as possible.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...